Invitation – Webinar
Competition Law in India
Jurisprudential Trends and the Way Forward
 
SATURDAY, APRIL 6, 2013, 9:30 AM (IST)
DIWAN-I-AM, TAJ MAHAL HOTEL, MANSINGH ROAD, NEW DELHI
 
 
PROGRAMME SCHEDULE
 
9:30 AM - 10:30 AM: Registration
10:30 AM - 10:40 AM: Welcome address by Mr. Nishith M Desai, Founding Partner, Nishith Desai Associates.
10:40 AM - 10:50 AM: Introductory remarks by Professor Dr. C. Raj Kumar, Vice Chancellor, O. P. Jindal Global University.
10:50 AM - 11:10 AM: Inauguration of Round table conference and inaugural address by COMPAT chairman Justice V. S. Sirpurkar on Competition Litigation.
11:10 AM - 11:30 AM: Video address by Eduardo Pérez Motta, Chairman, International Competition Network and the President of Mexican Competition Authority.
 
PROGRAMME SCHEDULE – Session I
 
Moderated by: Ms. Pratibha Jain, Partner, Nishith Desai Associates
 
11:30 AM - 11:40 AM: Address by Mr. Pradeep S Mehta, Secretary General, CUTS.
11:40 AM - 12:50 PM: Floor open for the discussions and questions. Participants include:
 
Hon’ble Mr. Justice V. S. Sirpurkar, Chairman, Competition Appellate Tribunal
 
Parag P. Tripathi, Senior advocate, Supreme Court of India
 
Pradeep S Mehta, Secretary General, CUTS International
 
Devraj Sinh, Chief Corporate Legal, Tata Steel Ltd
 
Rajinder Sharma, Director - Corporate Affairs & General Counsel - South Asia, DuPont India Private Limited
 
Ramji Srinivasan, Eminent competition law counsel, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India
 
Ryohei Kataoka, Vice President – Legal, Mitsubishi Corporation India Pvt. Ltd.
 
Sanjay Gulati, Chief Compliance officer, Walmart
 
Vikas Kathuria, Assistant Professor and Assistant Director, Centre for Global Corporate and Financial Law and policy, Jindal Global Law school
 
1:00 PM - 2:15 PM: Lunch
 
PROGRAMME SCHEDULE – Session II
 
Moderated by: Ms. Simone Reis, Senior Member, Nishith Desai Associates
 
2:30 PM - 2:50 PM: Address by Dr. Geeta Gouri
2:50 PM - 4:00 PM: Floor open for the discussions and questions. Participants include:
 
Dr. Geeta Gouri, Member, Competition commission of India
 
Ajit Yadav, President & General counsel, Vedanta
 
Amit Thukral, Assistant General counsel, Monsanto
 
Dr. Aditya Bhattacharjea, Professor of Economics, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi
 
Dr. Nicolas Banerjea-Brodeur, Head of Legal, contracts & Government affairs, Bombardier Transportation
 
Professor R Sudarshan, Dean & Professor, Jindal School of Government & Public policy, O.P. Jindal Global University
 
Professor James J. Nedumpara, Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean (Project and Institutional Development), Executive Director, Centre for International Trade and Economic Laws, O.P. Jindal Global University
 
Sandip Beri, General Counsel, Citi Bank N.A.
 
4:00 PM - 4:15 PM: Valedictory Address
 
ABOUT JINDAL GLOBAL LAW SCHOOL (JGLS)
 
Jindal Global Law School (JGLS) is one of the schools of O.P. Jindal Global University (JGU), which is a non-profit, global and research oriented university established by the Government of Haryana. The vision of JGU and JGLS is to promote global courses, global programmes, global curriculum, global research, global collaborations, and global interaction through a global faculty. JGU is a research intensive University, which has established several research centres. JGU has established four schools: Jindal Global Law School (JGLS), Jindal Global Business School (JGBS), Jindal School of International Affairs (JSIA) and Jindal School of Government and Public Policy (JSGP). Recently, a report relating to higher education in India entitled: "New Realities, New Possibilities: The Changing Face of Indian Higher Education" published by Ernst & Young and FICCI, has recognized Jindal Global Law School (JGLS) along with the Indian School of Business (ISB), Hyderabad as the only two key institutions in India that is rated as "Premium Higher Education Institutes" (HEIs). JGLS has established international collaborations with universities and law schools around the world, including Harvard, Yale, Michigan, Cornell, Indiana, UC-Berkeley, UC-Davis, Oxford, Cambridge, Melbourne and Sydney. These collaborations have led to faculty and student exchanges, joint teaching, research, conferences and publications and double degree programmes.
 
 
Participants who cannot attend in person, may dial-in at 10:20 AM (IST) for SESSION I & at 2:20 PM (IST) for SESSION II
 
 
SESSION I
 
MUMBAI (India):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 10:20:00 IST
 
SINGAPORE
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 12:50:00 SGT
 
TOKYO (Japan):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 13:50:00 JST
 
NEW YORK (USA):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 00:50:00 EDT
 
LONDON (UK):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 05:50:00 BST
 
SESSION II
 
MUMBAI (India):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 02:20:00 IST
 
SINGAPORE
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 04:50:00 SGT
 
TOKYO (Japan):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 05:50:00 JST
 
NEW YORK (USA):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 16:50:00 EDT
 
LONDON (UK):
Saturday, 6 April 2013, 21:50:00 BST
 
 
 
Dial–in Details
 
Primary Number: +91 22 6629 0347
Secondary Number: +91 22 3065 0347
 
For participants who can attend in-person,
please join us at the venue by 9:30 AM (IST):
 
Venue (in-person):
Diwan-I-Am, Taj Mahal Hotel
1, Mansingh Roady,
New Delhi - 110 011, India
 
RSVP:
compconf.nda@nishithdesai.com
 
 
There is no delegate fee being
charged for this programme.
 
Seats are limited.
 
 
NDA Connect
Events and Calendar 
 
 
About Nishith Desai Associates
www.nishithdesai.com
 
Nishith Desai Associates (NDA) is a research based international law firm with offices in Mumbai, Bangalore, Silicon Valley, Singapore, Mumbai-BKC and New Delhi. It specializes in strategic legal, regulatory and tax advice coupled with industry expertise in an integrated manner.
 
Core practice areas include International Tax, International Tax Litigation, Litigation & Dispute Resolution, Capital Markets, Corporate & Securities Law, Fund Formation, Fund Investments, Employment and HR, Intellectual Property, Competition Law, Mergers & Acquisitions, JVs & Restructuring, General Commercial Law and Succession and Estate Planning. Our specialized industry niches include financial services, IT and telecom, education, pharma and life sciences, media and entertainment, real estate and infrastructure.